Skip to content
open navigation


President Evans Elected to NAICU Board

SVC president David EvansThe National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities (NAICU) has announced the election of new officers and board members, including David Rees Evans, Ph.D., President of Southern Vermont College (SVC). The three-year term board appointment for Evans and seven other campus leaders (representing the association’s eight national regions) was announced at the 2017 NAICU Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C., earlier this month.

NAICU board members set the association’s agenda on federal higher education policy, actively encourage support of association priorities and initiatives and oversee the organization’s financial administration.

Evans has served as President of SVC since January 2015. Prior to SVC, Evans was Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty at Buena Vista University in Iowa. He has also served in academic leadership posts at Oklahoma City University, Georgia College & State University and Cornell College.

A native of Los Angeles, Evans holds an M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Virginia and a B.A. from Pomona College, all degrees in English. He has spoken nationally and internationally and written extensively on professional academic issues in “The Chronicle of Higher Education” and elsewhere. Evans has also presented, facilitated and led sessions for programs sponsored by the Council of Independent Colleges.

About NAICU:

NAICU serves as the unified national voice of private nonprofit higher education. With more than 1,000 member institutions and associations nationwide, NAICU reflects the diversity of independent higher education in the United States. Since 1976, the association has represented private nonprofit colleges and universities on policy issues with the federal government, such as those affecting student aid, taxation and government regulation. Our member institutions include major research universities, church-related colleges, historically black colleges, art and design colleges, traditional liberal arts and science institutions, women’s colleges, two-year colleges, and schools of law, medicine, engineering, business and other professions.

Back to top