Distinguished Alumni

and Distinguished Young Alumni

The Distinguished Alumni award is given to an alumna or alumnus of Southern Vermont College or its predecessor, St. Joseph College, in recognition of a combination of career, community service and personal achievements.

The Distinguished Young Alumni award is presented to an alumnus or alumna of Southern Vermont College who has graduated in the previous ten years, and who has received recognition as an emerging leader through professional and/or community achievements; who had achieved a position or distinction noteworthy for one so recently graduated; and who has served as an outstanding role model for current and future SVC students.

If you are aware of an individual who qualifies for either of these prestigious honors for next year (2014), please submit their name and qualifications electronically to the Alumni Office. You may also mail nominations to: Alumni Office, SVC, 982 Mansion Drive, Bennington, VT 05201.

Elizabeth Murphy Robertson '90 Chosen as SVC 2013 Distinguished Alumnus

After graduating in 1990, Beth worked at Southern Vermont College in the Office of Admissions until 1994. She has been working in Higher Education for 23 years. After leaving SVC, Beth served for six years as the Associate Director of Admission at Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts. While at MCLA, she was also very involved in the professional organizations which plan professional development and policy for admission officers in both New England and nationally.

In 1999, Beth left to work as the Director of Admission at Russell Sage College. In 2003, Beth was promoted to oversee both the Russell Sage College and Sage College of Albany Offices of Admission and transitioned to the Associate Vice President for Admission in 2005. Serving as the Sage Colleges Chief Admission Officer, Beth oversees all strategic planning and recruitment activities for new student enrollment, including a traditional college population for two undergraduate campuses, adult students market and three graduate schools.

Beth is a member of the following organizations: New York Association for College Admission Counseling (NYSACAC), New York State Transfer and Articulation Association (NYSTAA), New York Graduate Admission Professionals (NYGAP), National Association of Graduate Admission Professionals, The College Board and the National Association of College Admission Counseling (NACAC).  Beth serves on the Board of Trustees for the Albany Leadership Charter School for Girls in Albany, NY.

Beth graduated from Southern Vermont College in 1990 with a degree in Business Administration for Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts in 2001.

Beth lives in Clifton Park, NY with her husband Doug ’89. In her free time, Beth likes to spend her time skiing (in Vermont of course!), golfing, participating in fitness activates and spending time with her family and friends. 

Past Distinguished Recipients:
2013 - Elizabeth Murphy Robertson '90
2012 - Allan Faxon, Jr. '81
2011 - Denise Welch Land '97
2010 - Edward Haberek, Jr. '89
2009 - Richard B. Gauthier '91
2008 - Benjamin F. Patten II '84
2007 - Michael Donoghue '71
2006 - no award given
2005 - Ira J. Wagner '83
2004 - no award given
2003 - Penny Rich Smith '77
2002 - no award given
2001 - James Baker '91
2000 - Kim Hall-Sprague '89
1999 - Robert I. Walker '87
1998 - Robert Mather '93
1997 - Marilyn K. Douglas '62
1996 - Paul Doucette '90
1995 - Katherine Baranowski Hooper '89
1994 - John Seaton '89
1993 - LeAnne Holt '82
1992 - John Morrissey '82

Past Distinguished Young Recipients:
2011 - Zachary Garafalo '09